Food in Jars! (Part 3)

This is me trying to make a salad. I can marinate feta (when I’m marinating feta for a party I don’t do it like this. I add roasted red peppers and olives, then let it sit), so I decided to start there. I’d originally planned to use the whole block until I realized that it’d be equally good on a pizza; I used half the feta block instead.

A mason jar filled 1/4 of the way. At the bottom are chunks of feta, covered in oil, dried rosemary, and red chili pepper flakes

Marinating Feta

Then I added lentils. I didn’t want to use too many lentils because I couldn’t remember how they’d expand once cooked. I’m used to brown lentils – not little green ones.

A mason jar filled 2/3 of the way. At the bottom are chunks of feta, on top of them are little brown lentils. They are sitting in a liquid marinade.

Marinating lentils and feta

My ratio of liquids to solids is really quite off here. I still have a half-bunch of kale so I might use this jar as a topper to that. Or maybe I need to buy some chard or something. I’ll figure it out. I guess that’s why it’s generally easier to cook with a recipe.

One thought on “Food in Jars! (Part 3)

  1. Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    I love feta on a pizza – I find it difficult to eat pizza without it now. 🙂 But I also love it just by itself, cut into small pieces, with carrots and olives as a snack.

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I also add participating blogs to my feed reader.

    So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, I’m reading you loud and clear, I have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts, and you’ll likely see me drop by again during November.

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

    Like

Leave a Reply

