Pickles!

image

A co-worker if mine told me about this a few weeks ago and I’ve been longing to try it ever since. So I found a recipe! Marinated soft cheese is originally a Czech bar food that doesn’t seem to really exist outside of that region. So of course that meant that I had to try it. I figure that it’s a great use for those cheap supermarket camembert wheels. One wheel fit perfectly in this jar so I’d say so.
I’m not yet sure how it tastes. It needs to marinate for four days. I’ll be sure to provide an update when I find out!

I also made pickled eggs. I’d never made them before but I do love a good pickled egg. I can picture them being a great thing to bring on picnics this summer.

UPDATE: Four days later. Pickled cheese is AMAZING. Because I’m classy I put it on Triscuits because I’m classy like that. It is definitely something that I’d love to have around all summer, which means that I’ll just have to keep making more. I can see why this is a bar food, but I believe that it would also be delicious on those warm summer evenings outside with friends – those evenings when the days are so long that after dinner it’s still dusk and you’re all hungry again. It’ll be perfect for such an occasion.

Leave a Reply

